Organize, Pack, or Trash.

I’ve made the change from Blogger to WordPress, and I’m excited to say that I love my new (but not new) blog!  Although everything is different from Blogger, it’s not such a bad thing that I have to learn it all over.  But enough about the move, more about my day.

For months, there has been a scheduled power outage starting at eight am.  It was expected to be about five hours long.  I knew I was going to read, but after about 30 minutes of “The Fellowship of the Ring”, I got pretty tired; I need to get back into the swing of reading…I looked around my room, and saw a GIANT mess.  I told myself, “You’re going to have a super hard time finding what you want to take to college if you don’t clean up.  The sooner you organize, the sooner you can leave.”

Just the thought of leaving made me jump out of bed, and open my windows to let the fresh air come in. I ended up spending the rest of the outage (which was about four hours) organizing, packing, and throwing a bunch of stuff away.  You know that stuff you save because you’ll never know if you’ll need it again?  Well, I had a bunch of that.  And I may have completely screwed myself over in the future by throwing it away, but, at least it’s gone!  I took three huge, bulging bags of garbage to the dumpster, and turned one six-drawered dresser and one closet, which had both collected AT LEAST 10 years of junk, into three totes worth.  Kinda large-ish totes, but three all the same.

It was dusty, and musty, and I sneezed, but I got one job done for the day.  It kinda makes up for the fact I’ve been sitting on the computer from 8 to 8 everyday for the past week.

Other things I did today:

I showered in the dark, because I needed to shower bad (think: last shower was the day of my shots…Monday.).  It was actually really awesome.  I was slightly freaked out at first, but then it turned out to be not so bad.

I squished a bee in my window.  For those of you who don’t know me, I am terrified of killing bugs. (Just another completely ridiculous fear.  Add it to the list: Choking on gum while yawning, sharks, even in Wyoming…etc.)  Not because, you know, they’re bugs, but because of the awful sound they make when you step on them.  It’s kinda like mini-bones crushing.  It freaks me out.

I ate oatmeal with fresh blueberries – yum.

I figured out how to work WordPress. :)

Leave a Reply

