TMI.

WARNING: This post is about periods.  If you are uncomfortable with such things, go back to stalking people on Facebook, or whatever you do for fun.  Although it won’t be graphic, I will be talking about the female menstruation process.

I knew my day was going to be a train wreck when I felt the familiar, and dreaded, pains in my lower abdomen.  I watched “Grey’s Anatomy”, I ate constantly, and I pressed fingers into my gut, all to no avail.  Every few minutes, like clockwork (like contractions), my body gets really hot, it tenses, and I feel rolling cramps in my gut.  They don’t let up for about 30 seconds; 30 seconds of hell.  When they finally leave, my body is flooded with coolness, and I relax, only to dread the next oncoming round.  Each cramp is like a tightening clamp on my insides, letting up only to squeeze tighter and tighter.  And did I mention the headaches and nausea once the rolling cramps recede?

I’ve tried bananas, I’ve tried calcium, I’ve tried drinking tea.  Nothing makes it better.  The first day always sucks so bad, leaving me wanting to cuddle up in my bed and cry for my mommy (except my mommy is missing, and I have to do this whole growing-up thing alone).  Online research gets me nowhere.

Am I the only one wishing for childhood again?  The blissful innocence of make-believe worlds, and pains that kisses can heal?

2 thoughts on “TMI.

  1. I’m not sure how comfortable you are with “alternative” approaches, but lifestyle changes often can help alleviate the “side-effects” of PMS and menstruation. Also, an approach using herbs and TCM practices I have heard personally from some of my girls have done wonders for dealing with menstrual cramps and heavy flow. TCM being traditional Chinese medicine – you can always ask family/friends if they’re familiar with any reputable doctor they may recommend. If you’re interested in trying a holistic approach, that would be a good start!

  2. Oh, honey, I’m so sorry. I’m working on a solution for you… waiting to hear back from a friend (a chiropractor) who has the same trouble (but add vomiting to her list).

    I’ll e-mail you ASAP about that, as well as about our possible get-together next week.

    xoxoxox
    S.

Leave a Reply

