Books, Loans and Sore Butts

While riding in the pick-up, I spent a lot of time reading, talking, and taking pictures out the window.  Most of the pictures didn’t turn out so well.  I did get one of the sun behind the clouds; the edges are bright, and there are rays of light coming out from behind.  It’s probably the best picture I took the entire trip, which wasn’t quite as long as I thought (and hoped) it would be.

When I wasn’t talking (about anything from abortion to crops), I was usually reading.  (My butt also fell asleep, and I wiggled and squirmed to try new positions that wouldn’t let it fall asleep again.)  Early in the day, I had finished “The Mammoth Hunters”, and because I didn’t think I would finish it (because when I left, I still had maybe 250 pages left), I didn’t bring another Jean M. Auel.  What I brought instead was “Eat, Pray, Love”.  I started it while Sam was absorbed in “The Pirates of the Caribbean”.  So far, I’m in love.  Elizabeth Gilbert is an amazing writer, combining humor with her (somewhat) bittersweet journey to find what she’s looking for; pleasure, devotion and balance.

I’ll hold off on the review as of now, but I am looking forward to getting one written.  So far, (and I’m not a huge fan of non-fiction) her story has captured, and held, my interest, and I hope it continues.  And if it doesn’t, I still have “The Plains of Passage” and “The Shelters of Stone” to read.

In about 3 weeks, I’m headed off to Orientation, and after that, Florida.  But before all that happens, I have to decide what I’m taking for college, because when I finally get back home, I’m going to be going to my sister’s to help with the new baby for a week, and then I have to fly back to Naperville to begin college.  I don’t have a whole lot of time to be deciding what I need to bring, and what can stay.  My plan, so far, is after I’m done packing everything I need for the upcoming trip (orientation/vacation), if I have room, I’d like to pack college stuff that I don’t really need at home, and leave it with Kyle so I’ll have more room when I’m flying down the second (and hopefully, final) time.  Everyday, I see something in my room that makes me go, “Hey!  I’m going to need that in college!”.  But the problem is, I’ve never been to college, and I don’t know what I’m going to regret bringing, and what I’m going to regret leaving at home.  It’s pretty unlikely that I’ll be coming back during breaks because I just don’t have $300 for tickets while I’m paying for everything I need in college.

And speaking of books; crap.  I never once thought about having to buy them.  I knew that’s what college kids did, but for some unknown reason, I spaced that part, and in doing so, virtually ignored about $400 that I’m going to need.  I keep telling everyone that I’ll be fine, I’ve got jobs for the next week, and when I get back, my sister is going to pay me too.  But, in the 2 months I have left, I’m not going to be able to make $1300, plus $400 for books.

I’m going to have to take out more loans, which I’ve been fighting from the start because I don’t want to put myself more in debt when I’m already taking out $6000 a year.  I don’t want to have all that debt hanging over my head for the rest of my life.  But I can see it’s probably going to be necessary to be able to attend college and further my education.

Leave a Reply

