A Halloween Story

On my floor, there is a contest to decorate doors for Halloween.  The reward for winning is a gift card.  I wasn’t going to do anything, but since Rachel is gone, and I was bored, I thought up a design for the door.  And made Kyle help me.

The door originally looked like this (the Wyoming sign, which is sooo cute, is a gift from Astrid).

I thought that I would just cover the door with black paper and make little spatters of blood with red paper, with something that said “Beware”.  Something completely boring but still Halloween-y.

Well, I started doing some research online about designs for Halloween.  Before long, I was tired of looking, and about ready to give up.

Then I had an idea.

The Nightmare Before Christmas” is one of my favorite movies of all time, and I know it from beginning to end.  It was the perfect idea.

I started to plan out what I wanted it to look like, and decided it would be Jack’s head poking out, looking annoyed.  Then Kyle told me I couldn’t forget Jack’s dog, Zero.  I agreed, and then suggested the hill with the moon behind it.  And my door was born.

I started out with some white paper and drew a huge circle on it.  I kept cutting the edges off, so it would be perfect.  Then I started  planning out the placement of the smile, nose holes, and eye holes.

Here I am, hard at work.

Here’s Kyle, not hard at work.

Then all of a sudden, Kyle wanted to help out.  He started working on Zero,

while I worked on coloring in Jack’s eyes.

Then we headed out to dinner before the dining hall closed for the night (I got Blue Moon ice cream, yum!), and talked about more things we could add to the door.  When we got back, we started working on the door again.  I perfected Jack’s face while I finished off my ice cream.

Kyle set out to finish Zero’s body; cutting it out, drawing in lines, and putting his pumpkin nose on.

I had started on the hill, but the little curlicue in the center threw me off and I kept getting frustrated.  I finally drew an okay one, and then Kyle took over, fixing what was wrong.  When he held it up for approval, I perfected it, and then he started cutting it out.

When that was finished, he cut out little pumpkins, while I cut out headstones.  (Pretty much from here on, the pictures are of him, because he didn’t take any of me.  I did a lot more than I’m pictured doing, just so you know.)

And then it was finally time to put it all onto the door.  You don’t even know how excited I was!  I was jumping around, hugging Kyle, and kissing him all over the face.  He made a cute Zero!

Jack went up first, because he was the main part of the door.  Everything else went around him.  Once he was in the perfect place, we started rolling tape to hold him there.  Then the hill, moon, pumpkins, and headstones went up.  Then it was finally time for Zero.

He hardly let me help put Zero on the door.

This is me, showing how much I love Jack.  He was very-well made.

This is the semi-finished product, before the spiderwebs were attached.

Then came time to attach the spiderweb stuff, which was frustrating, because tape hardly held it on.

Then it was complete!

It was the best Halloween decorating I’ve ever been a part of!

What are your favorite Halloween memories?  (Or am I too early?)

One thought on “A Halloween Story

  1. WOW – your talents just continue to amaze me – you should hire out and decorate store windows for different occasions – you two could probably make a bundle!!

Leave a Reply

