Preventing Winter Colds

Because it’s starting to get cold here (super duper cold), all of a sudden, I’m worried about getting sick.  Finals are coming up, and work is exhausting.  I can feel my immune system slowly fading.

Which is why, when my Live Messenger opened up with today’s top stories, I clicked on “6 Doctor-Tested Ways to Keep a Cold Away“.  I’m always for finding ways to keep myself healthier, and now that I’m away from home and on my own, I like to make sure I’m doing everything I can to help myself fight off infections.  The 6 best ways to help your immune system, as stated by this article, are: Embrace your inner germaphobe, Make your face off-limits to your hands, Beware of the sneeze, Get your immune boosting sleep, Hydrate to stay healthy, and Get enough Vitamin D.

The sleep part was interesting.  It says that:

One 2009 study at Carnegie Mellon University found that people who slept fewer than seven hours a night were three times more likely to develop a cold when exposed to a virus than those who slept eight or more hours per night.

I’m not sure if that’s true or not, but I do tend to feel better when I get more sleep.  And with the Hydrate to stay healthy part: I hate drinking water.  Hate, hate, hate.  Especially here.  The water isn’t good like it is at home (I had well-water at home, full of healthy vitamins and minerals, which I could drink all the time), and when I force myself to drink it, I end up with a stomachache.  So I am excited about this part in the article:

Drinking herbal tea is one good way to keep your protective mucous membranes working; the heat triggers your nasal passages to release moisture, and inhaling the steam bathes the tissues in moisture.

Excuse me while I go make myself some herbal tea. :)

Leave a Reply

