Packing and Reading

I had my last class of this trimester, and after next Wednesday, I’m done with all school related stuff until January.  I have a Biology final on Monday at 7:30 a.m., an Anthropology (open book!) final on Tuesday at 3:30 p.m., and a Latin project due on Wednesday at 8 a.m.

On Monday, I’m moving into my new room.  (So, when I make new videos from there, you know why the surroundings are different.)  I’m not moving away from Naperville, or even out of Seager.  I’m just moving down the hall, to the quieter part of the building.  I’m getting a new roommate, and a new dorm room.  I’m excited!  I’m just not looking forward to the packing aspect.

I have to get everything packed up, (everything I’ve accumulated in the short 3 months I’ve been here), and then clean the room completely, so the girls moving in this room will have a nice, clean place to call their own.

It’s a little bit sad to be leaving this room, partly because it’s been my “home”.  This was the first place that I could call my own, and I got to put stuff where I wanted, and no one could tell me any different.  I could study, eat, or nap, and it was totally okay.

I know that the same thing will be true in my new room (unless my new roommate is violently opposed to napping), but your first true room can never be replaced.  Even though the blinds don’t work half the time, the room gets weird smelling a lot, and dust/hair collects EVERYWHERE, I’ll still miss this place.

The other night, as I might have mentioned on Facebook (okay, I mentioned it a lot), Kyle took me to Chicago to see “The Dresden Dolls“.  The drive over was stressful, because the doors opened at 7 and the show started at 8, so we hit really bad “leaving work” traffic.  When we finally got to the venue (“The Vic“), we waited outside in the cold for about 45 minutes.  The show was really good.  Amanda and Brian have such amazing chemistry on the stage, and they were fun to watch.  (Kyle told me not to bring my camera, because they might not allow them, so I left it in the car like an idiot.  Cameras were allowed.  I did get a few pictures, but they’re crappy cell phone pictures.)

On the way to Chicago (while it was still light, anyways), I FINALLY started my book, and I’m glad I did!  The writing is so amazing, up to the level of classic literature, and the subject matter is something I enjoy: fantasy/magic.  The book is called, “Fortress in the Eye of Time”, and it’s about a magician that makes a “shaping” (which is a being made from magic; not evil, just innocent), that he has to teach, because the boy comes out with the mind of a baby.  That’s about how far I’ve gotten, and I’m loving it.  I’m just having a hard time finding time to read (I know, I know.  I always say this about everything).

“No. No, you witling!  Do you at all understand pain?  Fire burns.  Water drowns.  Wind chills you.”  He shoved the young man, he flung him from the bench, scattered embers as the boy fell, his hand against the fire-bricks.

The boy cried out, recoiled, made a crouched knot of pain, rocking like a child, while smoke went up about the cloak edge that lay smoldering within the fire.

“Fool!” Mauryl shouted in rage, and snatched the boy away from the leap of fire, stepped on the hem of his own robe and, betrayed in balance, clenched his arms about the youth to save himself as he fell to his knees.

Young arms clenched about his frail limbs, young strength hugged tight, young body trembled as his trembled, in a stench of smoking cloth, a burning pain where a cinder burned his shin.  His own arms locked.  He had no power to let go.  The boy had no will to.  That was the way they were, creator and creature, for the space of breath and breath and breath.

Leave a Reply

