Vitamins

One of my early New Year’s resolutions was to start taking a multivitamin every day.  I had taken vitamins before, but never every day, and I felt like I would really benefit from having one every day to fill in what my diet is lacking (which is probably a lot.).

I got my vitamins from drugstore.com because, after checking stores and online stores, the vitamins that I was looking at were a lot cheaper from drugstore.com, and I was getting hair masks, too.

The vitamins in question are “One A Day Women’s”.  They have all the calcium and vitamin D that I need, and I was set on taking one every day.

At first, I was like, “No problem!  Even pills this size I can swallow.”  (I’ve never been able to swallow pills and I always end up chewing them, until senior year, and I was like, I’m swallowing this.  And I stood with at the sink with a glass and tried to swallow the pill I had, which was birth control, and very, very small.  Pathetic, right?)  The first few pills went down easy, but one day, as I was trying to get the pill down, I couldn’t get my throat to relax enough to swallow it.  The water went down, but the pill stuck to my tongue.  I spit it out, wrapped it in a paper towel, and stuck it in the trash.  I felt guilty all day and vowed to never do that again.  That was a wasted vitamin, and my body needed it.

(actual size)

The next day, I wasn’t able to swallow the pill again, and took a knife and cut it in half.  I still had trouble getting it down, but I’m proud to say that I got both halves down.

When I came for house-sitting, I left the vitamins at home without thinking.  I called Kyle and he said he would bring them over.  When he did, I was happy because I had missed a few days and I didn’t want to miss more.

Yesterday, I stuck the vitamin in my mouth, took a big drink of vitamin water (Essential, if you were wondering…Perfect for swallowing vitamins!), and the big pill when right down.

Today, however, was a different story.  I took a few drinks to wet my throat, stuck the pill in my mouth, took a drink…and couldn’t swallow.  The pill got stuck.

I tried filling my mouth with my drink, putting the pill in, and then shaking my head to “lose” the pill in the liquid, but that didn’t work either.  I’m so scared of choking, so I can’t force a pill down.  Then, I cut the pill in half.  I put one half in…And it got stuck too.

So, right now, the score is Vitamin: 1 and Cassandra: 0.

I will get it down today, even if it takes the entire day.

*Edited to add: Vitamin: 0 and Cassandra: 1.

5 thoughts on “Vitamins

  1. It’s better to take capsules. Those solid vitamins (tablets) don’t always dissolve very well. I’ve seen x-rays of people’s intestines with pills still visible. Just something I learned while working in my friend’s chiropractic office… You can find lots of info on the Internet about that.

    • Stacia- That freaks me out so much haha
      Kim- I think I’ll just stick with better smelling pills that might not dissolve and just chill in my stomach for years and years to come… :)

  2. You should try taking prenatal vitamins. They’re the same size but they smell like horse pee and taste even worse! lol….but they are really good for your hair, skin and nails……..and the baby to ofcourse :)

Leave a Reply

