Open Letter

Dear Guy in Mythology Class-

Hello, remember me?  We had to exchange e-mail addresses in the first class, just in case one of us was gone and needed notes.  From the first word you said, I knew that we would not get along.  I can’t say I’m sorry for that, because honestly, you’re not someone I would want to hang out with anyways.

Okay, we get it.  You went to China and Japan to study the languages.  You explained this from the minute the professor asked if anyone did something fun over D-term.  I understand that weather can change from “short/t-shirt weather” to “coat weather”; I’m from Wyoming, I saw it all the time there, and I would have guessed that it happens elsewhere, as well.

I’m not a patient person by nature, and it makes me anxious to be in the same room as you.  Yes or no questions do not need to be explained to death; a simple “yes” or “no” will be sufficient.  I really hope that this term is the only time I’m around you in a class (or in general).

Thank you for making my myth class a chore to go to.

-Cassandra

I got a new book today from the library because I finished “The Valley of Horses”.  While stumbling a few days ago, I came upon a website that was titled, “The 10 Most Disturbing Books of All Time“.  I may or may not be considered strange for admitting this, but the more gory a storyline is, the more it holds me.  All of these books entered my radar, and there were a few that I HAD to read.  “We Need to Talk About Kevin” was one of them.  It’s about a mother who is writing letters to her estranged husband explaining how their son went astray.  “Astray” as in going to school one day and massacring nine people at his school.  Already, the story is pulling at my heartstrings (not so disturbing yet); so hard to read, but even harder to put down.  As of now, I can’t formally recommend it to you, on the basis I haven’t finished it, but I’ve already told Kyle that he has to read it.  It really reminds me of “Nineteen Minutes” by Jodi Picoult (which I would love to read again).

I love Jodi Picoult; she’s probably my favorite author after Jean M. Auel, and I’m super excited to see her coming out with another book in May.  It’s called “Sing You Home” and is super hard to explain.  Like all of her other books, the plot is complicated, and because I’ve read every book of hers, I can say that the ending is probably satisfying, as well.  Just another book to add to my TBR (to be read) list.

Leave a Reply

