Sore Throats and Job Interviews

I’ve been drinking tea all day, hoping that it’ll help.  I’m also popping cough drop after cough drop into my mouth, wanting relief from the swollen rawness of my throat.  The things that I’ve tried (and only gotten temporary relief from):

  • Hot tea
  • Hot tea with lemon
  • Hot tea with lemon and honey
  • Cough drops (Halls Max)
  • Gargle with salt water
  • Gargle with Thieves mouthwash
  • Drink lots of water
  • Rest (I didn’t go to 2 days of classes)

I’m running out of things to try, and I’m almost ready to go to the wellness center to get some antibiotics.  It hurts to swallow, it hurts to breathe through my mouth, it hurts to talk, and it hurts even when I’m not doing anything.  I hate being sick, but the only thing worse than being sick is not being able to do anything to help it.  (Do you have any ideas to help me out?)

I’m hungry, but I can’t eat because it hurts to swallow.  All I can pretty much do it wait it out.

Other than being sick, I have a job interview on Wednesday that I’m feeling pretty good about.  In the mailroom today, there was a flyer for someone who needed a babysitter.  I’m always looking for little jobs that I can do when I’m not working to bring in a few extra dollars.  I called, but nobody answered, and remembered that it said “text to leave a message”.  So I texted the number, and a few minutes later, the woman (her name is Nikki) texted me back and apologized, saying that the baby was asleep in her arms.  I told her my schedule and she said she would look to see if it worked and then call me when the baby woke up.

After class, I called her back (she had called while I was in class).  In the message, she told me that my hours weren’t long enough for her, but she did need a night sitter when she went out with her husband.  When I called her, she asked my schedule, and I told her.  She laughed and explained that she had misunderstood what my schedule meant.  She thought that I only had the mornings open and she didn’t need a morning person.

So, lunch is planned for Wednesday; I’m going to meet her and the baby (who happens to be four months old!) and we’ll decide if it’s a good fit.  She sounds really nice and I can’t wait to see if she wants me to help out!

I think I’m going to make some more tea and read some more (I’m almost finished with my book).  There’s not much else to do at this point.

Leave a Reply

