Open Letter

Dear guy in Mythology class

You might not think it’s weird, but saying that dogs taste really good is not normal, it’s actually really strange.  The “ew”s and groans when you said that were pretty much indicative of the fact that you are an outcast in this class.  People in America do not eat dogs.  We love our dogs and talking about eating them makes enemies.  Chinese people may eat dogs, but we do not.  (Repeat this mantra to yourself.)

I know you were in China for a month, but c’mon, you were raised in America, you should know these things.  I would think that you said that for the shock value, but I saw the look in your eyes when you said, “they taste reeeallyy good.”  You actually like the taste of dogs.  But even the statement, “I don’t like dogs to begin with”, didn’t help your case any.  Some people don’t like cats (I do like them), but that doesn’t mean they think about eating them.

Be less weird, dude.  Also, stop dropping your bag (which happens to be chock full of books about Chinese), on my feet.

Sincerely, Cassandra

P.S.

Until I get my new book!

Leave a Reply

