Cinnamon Rolls

As I promised, here’s the post about making my grandma’s homemade cinnamon rolls.  I’m not going to tell you the recipe, because it’s a hush hush deal at home, but I am giving you a sneak peek into the actual making of them.

You mix all the ingredients and let it rise.  Then, you roll it out into a big, kinda even square.  Spread butter all over it, then cover it with brown sugar.

After the brown sugar, you sprinkle it with cinnamon.  We didn’t have any cinnamon here, so I had to grind my own from a cinnamon stick.

After the cinnamon is sprinkled on, you roll it up.  It kept sticking to the counter top for me…next time, more flour.

When it’s all rolled up, admire it for a few seconds.  This thing is heavy…like 7 pounds or something.

Cut it in half. (Look at that spiral!)

Keep cutting.  I was instructed to cut in half, cut in half, then cut in thirds.  That worked out nicely.

Before you get it all cut up, you make the caramel sauce, which is whipping cream, butter and brown sugar melted all together in a saucepan.  You put that in the dish you’re baking the rolls in.

Place the cut up rolls on top of the sauce.  They kept unrolling for me, which was frustrating. (They look like sardines!)

Pop them into the oven.

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes (more for me).

(Here’s a sneak peek of them inside the oven, baking away.)

Take them out.

Flip them onto a dish (I chose a cookie sheet).  The bottom, which is all gooey with caramel sauce, will now become the top.

They taste like home :)

P.S.  My new swimming suit for the Wisconsin Dells trip Kyle and I are taking tomorrow! :)  I got it at PacSun for $14. 50 a piece.  Nautical stripes in navy blue are really in…and I love it!

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls

  1. I like this post far better than the cleanse of doom concept :)

    Know only–it’s not that I doubt your intentions with it, I’m just concerned about misguided actions and because it’s a topic that hits a bit close to home, you know? One I’ve seen do incredible damage, even if it wasn’t overt or noticed by the rest of the world…

    Anyway, one of these days, when homework settles down, I’m going to call you. I miss you. We are very due for a heart-to-heart.

Leave a Reply

