Realization

I have a class called People and Nature, and it focuses on how people interact with their environment.

This course is an introduction to the interdisciplinary field of Environmental Studies from a humanities perspective. Students will read some of the most important books by American authors about the complicated and changing relationships between people and the rest of nature. These classic environmental tests offer insights into perceptions and uses of nature. This course aims to help students interpret arguments about environmental issues and understand their social, historical, and political context.  -From North Central College class catalog

The assignment for today was a “field report” about a time we went exploring into a new place.  When we were discussing our reports, the professor asked a question that stopped my in my tracks.

“If you enjoyed your explorations, why did you stop?”

I was speechless when she looked at me.  I really had no idea why I had stopped.  There were a million reasons rushing through my head, but I dismissed each one as an excuse.  I wouldn’t get lost on trails through the forest preserve.  People were willing to go with me if I didn’t want to be alone.  I had a way to get there.  Though the places here aren’t like they are at home, nature is beautiful wherever you are.

I’ve been feeling isolated, and I’m not sure what it is exactly; the lack of friends, a niche, etc (though I’m looking forward to the Open Needle Night at 6), and maybe it can be remedied by getting back into nature.  It seems like I have all these revelations, but I have a hard time following through on them.  I try to get involved at college, but I’m not as brave as I think I am.  I’m not very sociable either.  I have a hard time being with people my own age, but I do well with older adults, which will probably be the majority of Open Needle Night.

Wish me luck.

One thought on “Realization

Leave a Reply

