Cheers to the Weekend

For those of you wondering, I did get my paper done, and although it took a whole day (and I honestly didn’t get much done that first day) and most another day to finish it, I think I got some good ideas and arguments in there.  It wasn’t quite long enough (it was 5 1/2 pages instead of 6), but I’m a firm believer in saying what you need to say in less pages if possible.  Why would anyone want to read a paper that is filled with useless fodder because there was a page requirement?  Anyways, onto the love list:

1. Sunshine.  The past couple of weeks have been really warm and really sunny.  There are girls out in bikinis sunning themselves.  I’ve never been a huge fan of tanning, so my skin is still a pale winter hue, though I will get that bronze later in the summer spending so much time outside (especially if I’m spending time in the water with the kids).  Just stepping outside and feeling the warmth on my skin makes my day a little bit better.

2. Cold Showers.  With the lovely warmth, the heat also brings a sticky feeling to my skin (and palms, which I HATE).  Back home, we had a very dry heat in the summers, but here, it’s humid enough (because of all the rain we get) that it almost feels like Florida.  I take at least one cold shower a day, relishing the feeling of being chilled afterwards.  If I don’t do anything (go outside, walk around too much) I’ll stay pretty cool after the shower, but if I spend too much time not sitting, I get sticky again and have to repeat the cold shower (an excuse to be lazy!).

3. “Snuff” by Slipknot.  This song has been the song I’ve played on repeat all week (much to the dismay of my roommate).  I love music that is complex enough to make me feel it.  There’s something about the lyrics that really describe how I’ve felt lately.  The music is sad and slow, but at the same time, it has a rhythm that I feel in my belly.  The video (which is linked in the title) is so sad, and when I watch it, I get so frustrated with everything.  I don’t know why I like this song so much because it makes me angry and confused (and it makes me feel a little bit of pain, too), enough to toss things across the room, or sit and sob in a corner or something.  The more I talk about this, the more awful it seems, so I’ll just stop and let the song speak for itself (which is can very well do).

Have a lovely weekend, everyone (and to all the NCC students, good luck on studying for FINAL exams next week!  We did it, class of 2014; got through our first year!).  And as always, I welcome your love lists, as well.  Tell me what made you feel warm inside this week! :)

 

If you’re friends with me on Facebook, you’ve seen this, but I figured I would show you here, just to bring a little smile to your face…I know I laugh when I see it!

One thought on “Cheers to the Weekend

Leave a Reply

