Beach Blue: A Tutorial

I wore this to the mall the other day, and when I posted a picture of it on Facebook, I had people asking me how to get the look, so I figured I would show everyone how to do it!  It’s a perfect, super easy look for the summer time, and it takes no time at all…so you can be on your way out the door to be in the weather!

First step: Concealer (this could be foundation for you, but I don’t wear it).  I dab the concealer (Neutrogena 3-in-1) on all mini breakouts, around my nose, under my eyes and on my eyelids.  I don’t need a base (but sometimes I use Mary Kay eyesicles in Vanilla for extra shimmer), because the concealer does the job.  Blend with fingers.

Second step: More Concealer.  Because I like my face to be brightened, I use a concealer that’s a shade too light under my eyes to brighten up that area.

Third step: Eye shadow.  I used Mary Kay eyeshadow in “Moonstone” all over the lid, all the way up to the brow.  I love this shadow.  I think every girl should have that perfect champagne color in their bag!

Fourth step: Highlight.  I use a white shadow from an L.A. Colors palette to highlight my brow (right under the arch) with a Real Techniques brush.

Fifth step: Line.  Instead of using a pencil eyeliner, I prefer to use a colored eyeshadow to make it more light and playful.  This is the blue (I’ve also used the green and purple; all three colors are pretty) in the same L.A. Colors palette that I got the white from.  I use an angled brush (Real Techniques) to put it all across my lash line and halfway across the bottom.

(Fifth and a half step: Blend.  You don’t have to do this, but the line will be incredibly bright.  Using the same brush I used to apply the base color “moonstone”, I blended the color out, mostly on the bottom to spread it out, and on the top, I blended upwards.)

Sixth step: Curl.  Curl your lashes (easy enough, right?).

Seventh step: Line.  Use a black eyeliner to tight-line.  Tight-lining is lining your upper waterline.  I do it because it makes your lashes look a whole lot thicker.  Closing the eyes just slightly helps me a lot.  (Curling beforehand also makes it easier to tight-line.)

Eighth step: Mascara.  Apply a hearty dose of mascara (I’m one of the girls who think that there’s no such thing as too much!).  For a more dramatic look, I apply a coat, wait, apply another, wait, and then apply one more.  For simple daytime lashes, I usually just apply a heavy first coat and then a little extra to the tips.  I put the wand at the base of the lashes and wiggle, then sweep outwards to build volume.

Ninth step: Powder.  Powder with a translucent powder to keep the shine down (my forehead and the hollows underneath my eyes are the worst in this humid heat), and keep the concealer (and foundation, if you wear it) on your face.

Tenth step: More highlighting.  Using the same champagne eyeshadow, I love to highlight my face to make it dewy and glowy.  This step is obviously optional.  I use a larger eye brush (which is perfect for this step) and run “Moonstone” on the tops of my cheekbones, down my nose, across my chin, and on my Cupid’s Bow (this step makes your lips look fuller).

Eleventh step: Lipstick.  Again, this step is optional as well, but I’ve been playing a lot with lipsticks and love to kick my looks up a notch with a well chosen color.  My everyday color is a light berry toned lipstick (which is amazingly moisture-rich).

But…if you’re more adventurous, I would try a bright!  I got this Revlon lipstick in “Fuchsia” because (acid) brights are really in for this summer.  This color is a good match to the not-so-played up eyes and gives your lips a nice punch of color.


Hope you enjoyed this tutorial, and be sure to let me know if you want me to continue doing this!  If you try it out, let me see how it went for you :)

One thought on “Beach Blue: A Tutorial

  1. That fuschia lipstick is awesome! It looks great with that eye makeup too. That lipstick is definitely going to make it on my must have summer makeup list. I don’t really have that list, but I will start it now. :)

Leave a Reply

