Staring Me Down

It seems like the last handful of posts have been love lists and Tuesday Questions, and for that I apologize.  I know that they’re the popular posts, but I don’t want my entire blog to be based around them, and I’m sure you want a little more substance, too.

There’s a lot going on in my life right now; the fullest my plate has been since juggling a part-time job and my schoolwork at the same time.

I love my new job.  It’s exhausting and trying sometimes, but it’s so satisfying (yesterday we had a water fight!).  Everyday gets easier, and the flight instinct is fading just a little bit more each day that passes.  I’m becoming more comfortable where I’m at right now, and more comfortable in my own skin.  I thought this sort of comfort level came with age.  I mean, I’m 19 and I’m feeling like I have myself completely figured out.  I have finally put a finger on the feelings (and triggers) that make me want to run away, and I’m so proud of myself for keeping my eyes wide open when it comes to me and how I feel.

On the book front, I’ve been stuck on one book since I was in Vermont.  Stacia gave it to me (it’s the one listed under Reading:).  It’s so so good, but I’m not making much progress in it.  Whenever I sit down to read, I read at least 20 pages, but I think I’m in a black hole, because I’m just not getting any further.  There are five books sitting on my library shelf (books that I’ve checked out) just staring at me (and all but one are on my TBR list).  One of them is “Room” that I couldn’t wait to start, the other is “Daughters of Rome” that was on the “Hot” shelf at the library that looked right up my alley (both of those are from the library), two of them are by Bruce Junek and Tass Thacker (that I’m honestly a little bit scared to read), and the last one is “The Land of Painted Caves” (all three of those are mine that I can keep forever).  That one makes me so guilty.  I see it every single day and I want to pack it away, but it feels like the ultimate betrayal to remove it from sight.  I will finish it someday, guys, and when I do, I’m going to celebrate.  And that celebration may or may not involve throwing the book into the air and being glad to FINALLY be finished with it.

Leave a Reply

