Like the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

We went to see Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and although I had a hard time watching it (because of the incredibly violent rape scenes), I couldn’t (and still can’t) get it out of my head.

It stayed with me.

Lisbeth Salander’s character resonated within me, and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about her.  In fact, my computer has a picture of her for my desktop background image.  She’s edgy and sexy, but vulnerable and deeply beautiful at the same time.  Her tough demeanor, frightening through and through, caught me, and I’m still waiting to be let down.

I’m on this high, and I’ve been craving some change (I’ve gotten really itchy what with school starting back up again), and I figured that my hair was going.  I thought and thought and thought about this change, and unlike my last haircut, I didn’t feel an ounce of regret, not even a twinge, thinking about cutting it all off.

I was smart and texted my boss to ask if a drastic hair change meant a lost job, and was relieved when he told me that I would still have a job after the haircut.

My roommate did it for me, with some help from her mom (who was up for her birthday; Happy Birthday, Sarah!), and a lot of input from me.  The bangs scared me; blunt, across the forehead, and inches above my brows.  But as the inches fell, I fell more and more in love with this hairstyle; even the bangs are cute.

I wiggled with excitement as she turned the clippers on and shaved the sides of my head (in fact, I asked her to go even shorter than 1/4″).

As the hair fell on the ground (resembling a dead animal), my stomach was going crazy, and I tried hard not to grin (so I wouldn’t get a mouthful of hair).

At the halfway point (both sides shaved and the blunt bangs), she went out with her family for dinner.  I was left alone in the room, fingers twitching trying not to finish it off.  I couldn’t keep my hands away from the shaved portions of my head, or my eyes away from my reflection in the mirror.

As she cut the long bits, I kept telling her “Shorter, shorter; it needs to be shorter”.  More and more came off, making the pile of hair look like a large dead animal.

Kyle came in, and his grimace made my stomach fall a little bit.

“I don’t like the bangs.”

By the end of the cut, Kyle was smiling and nodding and telling me how great it looked.  Honestly, I was a bit afraid to look in the mirror.  When I did, and started messing with my newly shorn locks, I almost died.

I LOVE it.

Here it is wet straight out of the shower, with no messing around with it.

I love wearing a hat with it.  And along with my new “heroin chic“/grungy makeup, it looks awesome.

I get all sorts of looks; lingering looks from guys trying to figure me out, disgusted looks from the preppy girls I walk past in my haste to get to class, and shocked looks from everyone who recognizes me without my long hair.  I also get a lot of compliments on it, which are always welcome.

Next up?  A nose piercing.

2 thoughts on “Like the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Leave a Reply

