The Great Vegetarian Experiment

I’ve been going back and forth on this issue for months; meat is bad for your health (along with all the stuff that’s in it; hormones, etc), along with the environment (the fumes that slaughterhouses put up MAY be the reason for the Greenhouse effect), but it tastes so good!

So, after doing some research last night (as well as coloring my hair), I’ve decided that I’m going to try to go vegetarian.  I’m going to try it for a week, and if I feel good with where it’s going, I’ll try another week.  If I’m not feeling it, then I’ll stop, of course.  But I know that this is going to be difficult, and I know that my body is going to fight the change, which is why, if it gets a bit hard, I know that it’s my body saying, “Hey!  I’m lazy and comfortable; don’t get any ideas, here!”.

But, I also need to learn when my body is saying, “I don’t think this is so good for me…”.  This experiment is a way for me to feed my body more healthy food, therefore giving myself more energy, but it’s also a way for me to figure out what signals my body gives when it’s not doing so good (and I know some of them, but not all).

The main reason this is going to be so difficult (but also pretty easy) is the fact that my dining hall is an all-you-can-eat buffet.  In this respect, I’ll have to more choosy with what I put on my plate, but I also need to learn to be more open, because with meat out of my diet, I have to find another way to get protein.

I already know that my Warrior Food Complete Protein is going to help me out a lot (I actually mixed some into my Naked smoothie this morning), but I don’t want to depend on a powder to give me my protein.

So, if anyone has any tips or good information for going vegetarian, be sure to let me know; I’ll need all the support I can get!

3 thoughts on “The Great Vegetarian Experiment

  1. Beans! Beans! Beans! Beans! Beans!
    :)
    Paired with whole grains…brown rice (white is alright too, but it doesn’t have so many vitamins/nutrients or protein), whole wheat, or start exploring outside the box with quinoa or barley or…?

    I don’t know what options your dining hall has; I REALLY want to visit there so I could give better advice.

    Also: veggie burgers, tofu/endamame (and other soy products), tempeh, seitan, cheese and yogurt assuming you’re still consuming dairy! So long as you eat a plentiful and varied diet, its actually difficult NOT to meet your protein requirements for the day.

Leave a Reply

